Skip to main content

Congratulations to our regional wine stars!

Last week saw the dedication and talent of the region’s wine producers celebrated at the annual Langton’s Margaret River Wine Show. Congratulations to all MRBTA members who took part in the show and collected trophies at the gala dinner held at Leeuwin Estate last Thursday.

MRBTA was again a proud sponsor of the Wine Tourism Excellence Award, which is an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the importance of Wine Tourism to the Margaret River Wine Region and acknowledges that wine tourism, and wine sales, both domestically and internationally, are intrinsically linked. Previous winners of the award include Ulrika Larsson of Clairault | Streicker and Emily Bromell of Howard Park.

This year the Wine Tourism Excellence Award went to Arlewood Estate’s Paris Hokin. The award recognises Paris’ outstanding achievements in developing  compelling wine tourism experiences that share the Margaret River wine story with visitors from around the world. Paris is someone who, despite Covid, has created new and engaging wine tourism experiences, and is leading a new southern Margaret River trail with likeminded cellar doors.

Paris is also a finalist in the 2020 Australian Women in Wine Awards for Cellar Door Person of the Year. The award winners will be announced tomorrow evening, Tuesday 24 November, via an online ceremony. Good luck, Paris! More info here.


Please read on for the full Margaret River Wine Association press release and list of winners:


Xanadu team triumphs at
2020 Langton’s Margaret River Wine Show Gala

The Margaret River Wine Association (MRWA) is thrilled to announce the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award and the winners of the two Excellence Awards that were presented, with Langton’s Margaret River Wine Show Trophies, at a sold out Gala Dinner at Leeuwin Estate on Thursday 19 November.

The night was also live streamed for the first time on the Margaret River Wine Association Facebook page for those who that were unable to attend on the night.

104 exhibitors submitted 656 Margaret River wines that were assessed at the region’s 19th wine show in a year that MRWA Chair, Greg Wall AM said “was a year we have lived under the cloud of COVID and a great amount of uncertainty around Australian wine imports into China and the election of the world’s largest democracy”

The Xanadu team triumphed taking home five trophies.  Winemaker Glenn Goodall said, “It was an unbelievable night, which in itself was a huge for the Margaret River wine community to be able to get together and celebrate after the challenges 2020 has thrown at everybody.

“I think we are all very grateful to be able to have a wine show at all this year. To have our Langton’s classified Reserve Cabernet take out the top gong, amongst so many great Margaret River producers, is a massive achievement for everyone involved at Xanadu, especially our growers.  

It would have been a difficult task for the judges to select a top Cabernet given the quality from the exceptionally good 2018 vintage in Margaret River!

Being awarded the Wines of Provenance trophy was the icing on the cake given how much pride we take in our Cabernets, and acknowledges the efforts of so many people over the years at Xanadu. I’m very proud of the whole team.”


Langton’s Margaret River Wine Show Full Results:

Langton’s Trophy for Wine of Show

Xanadu Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2018

Margaret River Wagyu Trophy for Red Wine of Show

Xanadu Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2018

Labelmakers Group Trophy for White Wine of Show

Blackstone Paddock Margaret River Chardonnay 2019

Vinline Mobile Bottling Trophy for Most Successful Exhibitor

Xanadu Wines

Langton’s Trophy for Wine of Provenance

Xanadu Cabernet Sauvignon 2010, 2012 & 2018

City of Busselton Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon

Xanadu Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2018

Multi-Color Trophy for Best Chardonnay

Blackstone Paddock Margaret River Chardonnay 2019

Tonnellerie de Mercurey Trophy for Best Single Vineyard Red

McHenry Hohnen Cabernet Sauvignon 2019

Portavin Trophy for Best Single Vineyard White

Windows Estate Petit Lot Chardonnay 2019

Cospak / Saverglass Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon Blend

Evans & Tate Redbrook Estate Cabernet Merlot 2018

VAF Memstar Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc

Paul Conti Wines Sauvignon Blanc 2020

BFL Trophy for Best Blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon

Cormack & Co Margaret River Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2020

Anton Paar Australia for Best Oaked White other than Chardonnay

Churchview St Johns Wild Fermented Chenin Blanc 2019

CHEP Trophy for Best Shiraz

Domaine Naturaliste Rachis Syrah 2019

Chr. Hansen Trophy for Best Rosé

Fraser Gallop Estate Rosé 2020

Hahn Corporation Trophy for Best Other Blend or Varietal

Evans & Tate Single Vineyard Malbec 2019

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

Dorham Mann OAM

Viticultural Excellence Award – sponsored by Happs Wines

David Moulton, Cape Mentelle

Wine Tourism Excellence Award – sponsored by Margaret River Busselton Tourism Association

Paris Hokin, Arlewood Estate

The Langton’s Margaret River Wine Show was judged at the Margaret River HEART by an all-star Western Australian based judging panel, including (in alphabetic order by surname):

  • Cliff Royle (Chair of Judges) – Flametree Wines, Margaret River
  • Andrew Dawson – St Johns Brook, Margaret River
  • Arch Kosovich – John Kosovich Wines, Swan Valley
  • Cath Oates – Oates Ends, Margaret River
  • Damian Hutton – Nikola Estate, Swan Valley
  • Emma Farrelly – State Buildings, Perth
  • Erin Larkin – Wine Writer/Wine Professional, Perth
  • Kim Horton – Willow Bridge Estate, Geographe
  • Rob Dilletti – Castle Rock Estate, Great Southern
  • Ryan Aggiss – Aravina Estate, Margaret River
  • Severine Logan – Calneggia Family Vineyards, Margaret River
  • Tim Lovett – Leeuwin Estate, Margaret River
  • Virginia Willcock – Vasse Felix, Margaret River

All results from the 2020 Langton’s Margaret River Wine Show are available at

– ENDS –

Link to Images & Videos:

OneDrive – Langton’s 2020 Margaret River Wine Show Judging

YouTube – Dorham Mann OAM

For further information contact:

Pip Heaford – Communications & Events Manager |

Amanda Whiteland – Chief Executive Officer